Month: May 2008

  •   
    35 years ago today Mom in VC-rs

    On May 6, 1973, my mom, Myrtle Helena Mortenson Peter, went to her heavenly reward.  I still miss her.  Every now and then as I enjoy a cinnamon roll, I relish the smell of cinnamon and think of Mom. That’s because she made the greatest cinnamon rolls!! I was only 23 years old at her passing. I had been married 6 months; she had already transferred her care for me into Glen’s capable hands.  I was young.  However, I have come to realize for a ‘child’, at any age, it is always too soon to lose your parent.

    Today, I stop to remember and savor her legacy of faith she shared with me. She was my main mentor in guiding me to walk with the Lord. By her example, she also taught me to listen to God and obey His instruction in caring for another in a simple, special way. At these times, it has been my joy to experience the adventure and beauty God has in mind for walking alongside other pilgrims on this journey called life. 

    + This photo of my mom was taken by one of my siblings in the back yard of my folks’ retirement home in Valley City, ND.  In the background is the HiLine Bridge which Valley City is very noted for.